Jesus’ Christmas Titles

My favorite way to worship is just to pray through all the names or titles of God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. I know quite a few of them, and I can often spend a lot of time with them.

This Christmas season I got the idea to compile a list of all Jesus’ Christmas names or titles. I knew quite a few of them off the top of my head, but as I started to compile them, I found many more. Here’s my list in a simple prayer form. You’ll see I grouped ones that were similar, and that I tried to go through the Christmas story as I went. Let me know if I missed one and I’ll add it.

Jesus’ Christmas Titles

Jesus, it is especially great joy to worship you at Christmastime.  During this holy season, I confess that you are:

Jesus, who saves His people from their sins (Matthew 1:21)

Emmanuel; God with us (Matthew 1:23)

Jesus, our Emmanuel (“Hark the Herald Angels Sing”)


The Son of God

The Son of the Most High

The incarnate Deity (Luke 1:32, 35; “Hark the Herald Angels Sing”)


Mary’s firstborn, conceived by the Holy Spirit (Luke 1:35, 2:7)

A child born unto us; a son given unto us (Is 9:6)

A Savior born unto us (Luke 2:11) Born the king of angels (O Com


Christ (Luke 2:11, KJV)

The Messiah (Luke 2:11, NIV)


The Lord (Luke 2:11)

Christ the Lord ( “O Come Let Us Adore Him”)

The Everlasting Lord ( “Hark The Herald Angels Sing”)

Christ, the Everlasting Lord (“Hark the Herald Angels Sing”) Angels


The son of David (Luke 1:32)

Christ the King ( “What Child Is This”)

The newborn king ( “Hark, The Herald Angels Sing”)

Christ the Newborn King ( “Angels From The Realms of Glory”)

Christ the Lord, the Newborn King (“Angels We Have Heard On High”)

The earth’s king (“Joy to the World”)

The King of the Jews; the one born King of the Jews (Matthew 2:2)

The ruler over Israel; the ruler who will shepherd God’s people (Micah 5:2; Matthew 2:6)


The Great Light (Is 9:2)

Love’s pure light (“Silent Night”)

The Light that shines in the darkness (John 1:5)

The Light that dawns on those living in the land of darkness; that shines on those living in darkness (Is 9:2; Luke 1:79)

The True Light that gives light to everyone (John 1:9)

The Everlasting Light ( “O Little Town of Bethlehem” )

A light for revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of Israel (Luke 2:32)


The Word of the Father now in flesh appearing (John 1:14, “O Come, Let Us Adore Him”)

The Sun of righteousness rising with healing in its wings; the rising sun who comes to us from heaven (Malachi 4:2, Luke 1:78-79; “Hark, the Herald Angels Sing”)

The Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace (Is 9:6)

A horn of salvation raised up for us by God; salvation from our enemies and from the hand of all who hate us (Luke 1:69-71)

God’s salvation prepared in the sight of all nations (Luke 2:30-31)

The Desired of Nations (Haggai 2:7)


The Offspring of a virgin’s womb (“Hark, the Herald Angels Sing)

The one born in Bethlehem, placed in a manger, and wrapped in swaddling clothes (Luke 2:7)

The one announced by angels, visited by shepherds, and worshipped by wise men (Luke 2:9-14, 16; Matthew 2:11)


O Wisdom, Lord and Ruler, Root of Jesse, Key of David, Rising Sun, King of the Nations, Emmanuel (Pray

The one held by Simeon and spoken about by Anna (Luke 2:25-38)

Thank You for coming.  I receive You as my greatest gift and I enjoy you during this season and at all times, Amen

Our product categories | Embrace the Middle East | Names of jesus,  Christian christmas, Christmas jesus

Leave a comment